“The Consequences of Sight”

80_jesus-heals-a-man-born-blind_1800x1200_72dpi_2

A few weeks ago I was meditating on Mark 10:46-52. In this passage Jesus goes up to a blind man and asks “What do you want me to do for you”, the blind man replies “Master, I want to see”, Jesus restores the man’s sight, and the man gets up and follows Jesus on the way. This is the end of Chapter 10. Chapter 11 is Jesus entering into Jerusalem. I thought to myself “Which means a week after this man has his eyes opened he probably witnessed the Passion of Christ. I wonder, would he have regretted receiving sight after what he probably saw?” My answer, written in the form of a poem, answers this question in a way you might not have expected.

“The Consequences of Sight”

“What do you want me to do for you?”
I would have never asked for sight
Had I known I would see you be scourged to shreds.
If I were still blind, I could hear the crack of a whip and only imagine the tearing of flesh.
But now I can see the damage.
I can see your stripes. I can see your blood being poured out.

“Master, I want to see.”
I would have never asked for sight
Had I known I would see my Lord be sentenced to death.
If I were still blind, I could hear someone in the crowd shout “Crucify him” and only imagine what they might look like.
But now I can see the face of one of those men.
I can see the hatred in his eyes. I can see the throbbing vein in his neck.

I followed you on the way.
I would have never followed you on the way
Had I known this would be your destination.
If I were still blind, I could hear you being led away and only imagine myself still following you.
But now I can see you as you look to me one last time.
We lock eyes. I look away.

Had my eyes never been opened, I could have wept for you that day.
Since they were opened, I have only to weep for myself.

Leave a Reply

