LOST Taught Me Not to Blink

I never really connected to the phrase, “Life goes by so fast, don’t let a moment fly by,” until Sunday May 23, 2010.

For those of you who don’t know, the critically acclaimed TV show “LOST” had its series finale this past Sunday. The finale caused different reactions to its viewers; some were frusterated at the way it ended, some cried at the thought that LOST was over, and a few, like me, got a life-altering epiphany.

As the credits rolled during the final episode of the show, I got off my couch, crawled behind it, and started crying. I’m not saying I had occasional sobs, or my eyes were a little watery-I flat out balled my eyes out. I knew I looked ridiculous and my family was laughing because they assumed such a reaction would be aroused out of me, seeing as how LOST was my favorite TV show-a show that I was obsessed with and always knew all the answers too. But they didn’t fully understand- I wasn’t crying because LOST was done, I was crying because I realized how fast the past six years have gone by.

The show began September 22, 2004-I was 11 years old in 6th grade. I was instantly hooked and I remember discussing thoeries with fellow classmates in Mr. Flowers’ class. Since then, I have made a few videos related to LOST, recieved an autographed poster of the cast, and collected the previous 5 seasons of DVD’s. So, as you can clearly tell by now, I was obsessed with LOST.

When I think about the very first episode aired in 2004, I think, “Eh, that wasn’t too long ago.” But when I think about my first day of 6th grade, I think, “Hmmm, I can’t remember. That was a long time ago.” My mentality was that LOST didn’t seem to have started so early, but then I realize that since the first episode aired, I have befriended my best friends Kevin and Joe, I’ve lost my Grandma, and I’ve broke 100 pounds. So many things have happened in the past 6 years- sometimes it feels like it happened a few months ago, sometimes I feel like it’s been longer than 6 years.

That’s how my life is moving- I was 11 when the show started, I am now 17. In that same amount of time-6 years from today-where will I be? I’ll be 23 years old. Hypothetically, I could be married, be teaching a classroom full of students, and have to see deaths in the family. Many things are going to happen in the next 6 years, but how fast will it feel? Will I get caught up in certain things like a television series and not realize how fast my life is going?

When I told my mom I’m finally seeing how quickly my life is moving, she reminded me how she’s been watching my sister and I growing up so fast as well. In the final episode of the show, the charecters had flashbacks of things that had happned to them from as far back as the first episode. It was fun to see how much they’ve changed in this amount of time and see how their charecter roles have played out. Then I started seeing how much I’ve been changing in the past 6 years and seeing how my role is playing out.

Now techinically, I’ll blink around a million times between now and when I’m an old man-but I think that I’ll still keep Kenny Chesney’s advice in mind; “Don’t blink, cuz just like that you’re 6 years old and you take a nap then you wake up and you’re 25 and your high-school sweetheart becomes your wife. Don’t blink, you just might miss your babies growing like mine did; turning into moms and dads, next think you know, your better-half of 50 years is there in bed and your praying God takes you instead. Trust me friend 100 years goes faster than you think. So don’t blink.”

5 thoughts on “LOST Taught Me Not to Blink

  1. Yes, your reaction surprised me, but it also confirmed to me how much you love life and the people in it. Keep your eyes and heart open and treasure all God has blessed you with. Remember that you have the power to slow yourself down and embrace the life around you. It’s one heck of a ride and I’m so blessed we’re in it together!!…(lets not do another 6 year tv commitment!) Love you!

  2. That was perfect, Kevin. Just yesterday we buried one of our beloved friends from high school. I met her in 5th grade and was in band and choir with her all through Jr high and high school. She died young at 41, but my friend these 25 years since getting out of high school have completely flown by and suddenly we’re laying one of our beautiful friends to rest. It’s all about relationships with the special people God places in your life, and making the very most of the time we have.

    Very thoughtful and well-written.

  3. You have experienced at an early age how quickly life goes by. Most students your age don’t understand until they are 50. I will be waiting for your next blog!

Leave a Reply

